top of page

100 Letters 100 Painting

Updated: Feb 28, 2022

In search of reasons to paint I asked myself a lot of questions. What difference does it make if I paint again? Does the society need art to sustain itself? To what extend would the society go to keep up the spirit of an artist. Does the society really care? Would they participate if asked to or is it just an artists imagination that the world needs it? If it is so, can I ask the society to get involved to create the next 100 piece of painting with the help of their letters.


Thus decided to create something called- 100 Letters 100 Paintings Handsel


I posted a little ad on my Instagram page asking if anyone would be interested to participate in this venture. All one has to do is send a hand written letter to the address mentioned and in return receive a hand painted letter. The only cost involved for the sender would be postage. I would like to see if people would find time to sit down, leave their mobiles aside, take a paper and pen, to write. Actually write and not type.



Questions then arise from various source in just a day

  1. Will a stranger write to another stranger

  2. Will your own friends and family bother to do so

  3. Will they brush it away like a mad persons pursuit

  4. Do they really wish to receive a hand painted letter

  5. Why should you spend so much

Other than just an interactive art between the creator and the sender. I hope to find joy in letters from someone or dear ones. I must say I am in pursuit of little things that has been lost over time. Letters! and a reason to paint


What can we achieve?

I don't know what we can achieve out of this. But I do know holding a letter in my hand and reading it gives me immense joy. Knowing that someone out there would take out the time to write and would love to have a little painted letter in return, will give me the reason to paint.


Those interested in participating and receiving a painted letter.

Send a hand written letter to-

Priya Jayanand

J&B Villa

Po. Pallikunnu

Near Edesa Convent Hostel, Edacheri Vayal

Kannur, Kerala- 670004


Abstract

There isn't any reason as to why I must sit before a sheet of paper and scribble

a piece of art. Other than a sense of content I achieve over a completed piece, I find it useless hanging on my studio walls or hidden in a closed book. More over I have lost the reasons to paint. I am one of those who dwell on the little joys of life. I am not the one who can visualize grief, violence, depression etc. So it is very important for me to have a good state of mind.

With the pandemic and bad governance the world we know has changed. Like many my life took a turn to what I dreaded the most. Heading back to home town Kannur, Kerala. The world might see Kerala as the most literate state but when you live it, its rather binding yourself to an invisible chain of control. Weird family members, religion, cultural, proposed morals, dress codes, night curfew , delusions and some weird code of conduct. Freedom just vanishes from your dictionary. So I ended up being stuck in my own house locking my gate to keep the weirdest out of my premises and my mind. Unable to meet the ones who truly know me, distance and travel bans lead me to isolation. Habits and people who were around me vanished. Leaving me with a mended heart not knowing when I would meet my dear ones. The uncertainties forced me to a dull space which I for sure don't enjoy. Every day I stand at the studio door peep into it and walk away. I look at all those papers and paint and wonder will I ever use them again. I am sure I don't want to paint for myself anymore as it meant nothing to me.

As children we scribbled endlessly on sheets of papers, walls and anything that can be scribbled upon. Our mind never saw the atrocities or the evil that surrounded us. We held a very colorful mind. With age it is hard to not see and undo experience of life. But yet I have held on to all that is beautiful as I never let freedom be stolen. But for the first time I was imprisoned by unscientific reasoning and a failed beurocracy, supported by mass public. when the entire system crash there is no place to escape. So sitting in this studio I decided to reach out to many out there on social media. I decided to give away 100 paintings to those who would write to me. Thus hoping I would find new reasons to paint I wait in my studio.


To make things more fun I added a clue in every letter sent. A blank of a puzzle (clue) which when put together will reveal a single larger painting.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page